You Say Tomato

This year, there is a farmer’s market on our drive to work that opens early each Wednesday morning. This makes stopping in to pick up a bit of fresh produce very easy. It is not a very large market, but then, do I need 8 choices of home grown tomato, or will one or two do? We picked up tomatoes, cantaloupe, green pepper and fresh garlic on our first stop, and all of it was great.
Depending on if I can schedule a day or so and get the produce, I hope to make some special pickles this summer. I am out of lime pickles and want to make Christmas cinnamon rings and maybe (for the first time ever) watermelon rind pickles. But, it depends on my schedule and the price of the produce. I have not had a big garden since I moved into this house over 10 years ago, and I don’t really feel bad about it. With our travel schedule we are not assured of being home to care for or harvest a garden, so putting in a garden seems like a fool’s errand.
So, until our schedule changes or we find some magical no care garden method, we rely on the supermarket and the farmer’s market to get our fresh produce, along with the occasional care basket from my parents or my baby sister, who have farms and gardens.
So, do you garden? Do you preserve your harvest? Is there a family favorite item you can or pickle?

One thought on “You Say Tomato”

  1. Farmer’s Markets are a wonderful thing. Harvey and I no longer grow cabbage, cauliflower or broccoli. It is so much easier to just pick up what we need at the market here. I am always so late picking my cucumbers that they are huge and not really fitting for dill pickles so I have started to buy bags of tiny cukes at the market as well.

    God bless.

Leave a Reply

